Thursday, March 31, 2011

Aboriginal Languages Day

Did you know? The name 'Canada' comes from 'kanata' the Huron word for village. The name for 'Ontario' stems from a Mohawk word 'Oniatari':io', meaning beautiful lake.

National Aboriginal Languages Day, March 31, was established by the Assembly of First Nations in 1989 to create awareness across Canada of the languages of the First Peoples, and to build support for their preservation. There are almost 60 different Aboriginal languages in Canada. Of these only three are considered safe from extinction - Cree, Ojibway and Inukitut. Cree is a language spoken in many First Nations in Ontario's far north. Ojibway, or as it's called in its own language, Anishinaabemowin (Ah-ni-shi-na-BEE-mo-win) is the language of many First Nation communities in the near north, northwestern and southwestern Ontario. Inukitut is the name of some of the Inuit languages spoken in Canada. Ontario is supporting the revival and preservation of Aboriginal languages. First Nations And Ontario Celebrate National Aboriginal Languages Day: March 31

For more information, visit the AMO website.

No comments:

Post a Comment